Tags

, , , , , ,

You know, bbq doesn’t have to be all about steaks and chops and rotisserie cooking and all that fancy stuff.  Sometimes, getting back to basics is a nice treat.  On Sunday, I decided to do what I consider “Kid Food”…..burgers, hot dogs, beanie weenies and mac n cheese.  Needless to say, our 16 yo DS was tickled pink!  LOL

I had 1 1/2 lbs ground chuck and 2 packs of hotdogs, one regular bun length and one all beef.  The Mac N Cheese was the old faithful, Kraft and the beanie weenies were made with pork and beans, 3 weenies I cooked in an iron skillet and sliced about 1/2 inch thick, some catsup, mustard, grape jelly, salt and pepper, brown sugar all added till it tasted right.  🙂  Yeah, I’m not real big on official measures when I’m cooking.

I got the grill fired up Image

and then set it up for indirect cooking with the coals against the back of the WS.  I cooked the burgers at about 250 for 10 minutes, flipped them and basted with melted butter, cooked another 10 minutes, flipped and basted again and put on the hot dogs.  I cooked everybody for another 10 minutes, then took off the burgers, slapped a slice of cheese on 2 of them cuz I like cheeseburgers, finished the hot dogs directly over the coals, moved them back to indirect and started toasting up the buns.  It looked like this toward the end: Image

When all was said and done, the burgers and dogs looked like this: Image

The buns looked like this:  Image

The Mac N Cheese:  Image

And finally, the beanie weenies:  Image

A burger dressed with lettuce, tomato,onion, mayo and mustard (cheese burger for me), a hot dog with mayo, mustard and catsup, a big spoon of beanie weenies, and a nice helping of Mac N Cheese.  Truly, a meal fit for a kid……no matter how old they are!  LOL

Enjoy doing it your way!  Then it’s bbq!

