Tags

, , ,

It’s been a crazy busy week, so I haven’t been able to update my blog since I did some dynamite pork chops on the bbq last Sunday.  Seems our local chain grocery store had them on sale, buy one, get one free.  These little chops were about 1″ thick and really looked good, so I got a couple of packages (2/package), took them home and started getting them ready.

First was a dry brine, using some kosher salt.  Nothing else.  Nada.  Zip.  Zilch.  Just a nice coating of kosher salt, then let them sit for a few hours.  Image

After the brining, a rinse, pat them dry and then a bit of Cajun Seasoning made by a popular company down in Louisiana.  Looked like this:

Image

After letting them sit for a few hours, they went onto the WS, using the Smokenator with a small chunk of hickory, then cooked at 250 for about 20 minutes.

Image

Time to flip, then cook to internal temp of 145.  At 145, I stuck them over the direct heat and did a bit of reverse sear.  Final product in overflowing pan:

Image

I figured I’d go ahead and throw on the hot dogs from my last Kids Meal cookout, got them done, sliced in half and they were NIIIICE!  Image  I got a recipe for hot dog chili from Meathead’s Amazing Ribs site and whipped that up while the pork chops were cooking.

I also decided I was going to cook some extra dishes so I wouldn’t have to cook this coming week, at least before July 4th.  I did some ravioli lasagna, some regular ravioli and a rather large sweet potato.  The end products, including the hot dogs in the chili sauce in a pan at the left rear, looked pretty decent.

Image  Image Image

Once it was all done, put a bit of everything on a plate and feast time!

Image

Our DS had a buddy over Monday night.  The ravioli and lasagna didn’t last until Tuesday!  Sweetie and I had smoked pork chop Sunday night, but Monday night I got some mushroom gravy ready and heated the leftovers in the gravy.  Serve with rice and totally yummy but different.

So, for July 4th, I plan on doing a little beef roast, but with a twist.  Stay tuned!  LOL

