Tags

, , , ,

OK, I know that July 4th is supposed to be THE bbq day here in the U.S. of A.  It’s been drilled into me year after year after year.  BBQ or else!

Well, this July 4th, I did NOT bbq!  But I DID cook  outdoors…..without fire!!  Impossible you say?  I say nay nay nay!  Eminently possible…especially if you’ve got one of these:

SunOvenStart

This, my friends is a true solar cooker.  Uses nothing but the sun.  And it works even if it’s partly cloudy, like today was here in SENM.  🙂

It unfolds sunovenopen and has a cooking chamber just right for medium sized dishes and pots and pans.

Today I did a beef round roast.  I used carrots, onion, potatoes, the roast and a couple of bay leaves.  Roastrawingredients  The roast had been seasoned with Montreal Steak Seasoning before it was frozen (froze it several months ago, packed in a food saver vacuumed bag).  I whacked up the ‘taters, carrots, celery and onion, stuck them into the pot and slipped a couple of bay leaves into it.  Then, out to the Sun Oven which had been heating for about 15 minutes, slip it inside, close the glass top after putting in my thermometers, and let ‘er rip.  RoastinOven-1  The oven only got up to a high of 275 today due to the clouds.  Usually it’ll get up to almost 400!  WOWZERS!!

I let the roast go for 4 hours and turned the oven to keep it facing the sun.  During the cooking, towards the end, I made some of Meathead’s Garlic Mashed Potatoes to go with the roast and veggies.  See his site at www.amazingribs.com for the recipe (let him know I sent ya!  LOL)

When the roast was done, I took the pot into the house.  Here’s what it looked like:

Roastinpandone

Slice the meat:  RoastSliced  put a piece or 2 on a plate, add the garlic mashed potatoes, some of the veggies, a little gravy over the roast and ‘taters, some butter on the veggies and chow down.

RoastFinalPlating

For a non-bbq 4th of July, we sure ate well.  Definitely heresy, but what the heck, right?  As long as it comes out good!

Happy 4th of July to ya’ll!

P.S.

Our DS and I bought a few fireworks and after the city fireworks, which were awesome…first time they did them to music,,,we had a blast setting them off.  🙂

